Skip to Menu Skip to Search Contact Us Malaysia Websites & Languages Skip to Content

About

This Webinar presented by SGS explores FSMA requirements on labeling and allergens monitoring, addressing solutions and best practices to ensure compliance to FSMA.

Starts

Oct 11, 2018

Ends

Oct 11, 2018

Location

Online

SGS assurance on nutrition facts

Objective

The objective of this webinar (45-minute presentation and 15-minute Q&A) is to explore the requirements of FSMA labeling with a key focus on allergens declaration and how to reduce risk of non-compliances with support of the latest technologies

Agenda

  • Overview of FSMA
  • FSMA labeling requirements overview
  • Monitoring risk of mislabeled allergens
  • Conclusion
  • Q&A

Background

In the US, undeclared allergens are the primary cause of food recalls by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Most reactions to allergens are mild and self-limiting but, in about 20% of cases, the reactions can lead to anaphylaxis which can result in shock and even death. According to the US FDA, food allergies are responsible for around 30,000 emergency room visits each year, 2,000 hospitalizations, and 150 deaths.

The Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004 (FALCPA) defined the labeling requirements relating to the “Big 8” allergens – milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, nuts, peanuts, wheat and soybeans. These allergens account for about 90% of all food allergies in the US. With the introduction of FSMA and its emphasis on undeclared allergens, these are now described as hazards that should be controlled.

Panelists

Hank Karayan – SGS Global FSMA Manager
Nicola Colombo – Head of SGS Digicomply
James Cook – SGS Global Food Inspection Technical Manager

Schedule

Thursday, October 11, 2018

10:00 Eastern Daylight Time (New York)
15:00 GMT Summer Time (London)
16:00 Europe Summer Time (Paris)
7:00 Pacific Daylight Time (San Francisco)
22:00 Kuala Lumpur Time (Malaysia)

Language: English
Cost: No charge

Can't make a live session? Register now and receive a complimentary recording after the live event.

For further information, please contact:

Jennifer Buckley
Global Marketing Manager
t: +1 973 461 1498