Skip to Menu Skip to Search Contact Us Malaysia Websites & Languages Skip to Content

About

Join us to explore how artificial intelligence (AI) technology can be used to scan recall records from hundreds of sources to provide insights that will lead to more effective approaches to food safety management.

Starts

Nov 27, 2018

Ends

Nov 27, 2018

Location

Online

Artificial Intelligence

The majority of food safety data generated online is unstructured. Every day, thousands of reports, alerts and recalls circulate on the web, while e-commerce sites, social media platforms and apps are creating millions of consumer feedback comments. The question is, how do we generate value out of this huge volume of data?

This webinar explores how artificial intelligence (AI) technology can scan recall records from hundreds of sources, in a variety of languages, then correlate this data with product information and consumer feedback to provide insights that will lead to more effective approaches to managing food safety. We will provide an overview of the latest AI technological capabilities to see how they support large-scale data analytics. Viewers will also learn how SGS Digicomply utilizes AI to transform unstructured data into actionable knowledge.

Agenda

  • Food recall trends and facts in 2018
  • What consumer feedback can tell us
  • AI - background, basic techniques for text processing, getting to know NLE, NER, ML classification, and sentiment analysis
  • Connecting data from various sources to identify patterns and emerging risks:
    • Characterizing the risks
    • Establishing routines to monitor signals that trigger new threats
  • Q&A

Background

A recall occurs when there is reason to believe that a food may cause illness to a consumer. It may originate from a consumer report, which can include anything from a formal complaint to a comment on social media. Food manufacturers or distributors may then initiate a recall to take foods off the market. In some cases, government agencies may request a recall. These authorities will track issues using systems, such as the European RASFF, which ensures information flows freely, enabling swift recalls when a risk to public health is detected in the food chain. In 2017, RASFF managed more than 3,500 notifications.

The most common reasons for food recalls are:

  • Discovery of an organism in a product which may induce sickness
  • Mislabeling or misbranding of food. For example, a food may contain an allergen, such as nuts or eggs, which do not appear as an ingredient on the label
  • Food adulteration

Target Audience

This webinar is aimed at all food safety and quality professionals with the aim of leveraging the latest technologies to manage food safety.

Presenters

Nicola Colombo – Global Head of SGS Digicomply
Jakub Janostic
– SGS Digicomply Data Science Team

Language: English
Cost: No charge

Can't make a live session? Register now and receive a complimentary recording after the live event.

Date: November 27, 2018

Register for Session One

8:00 am (London)
9:00 am (Paris)
1:30 pm (New Delhi)
4:00 pm (Kuala Lumpur)

Register for Session Two

8:00 am (San Francisco)
11:00 am (New York)
4:00 pm (London)
5:00 pm (Paris)

For further information, please contact:

Jennifer Buckley
Global Food Marketing Manager
t: +1 973 461 1498